Showing Collections: 76 - 100 of 101
Samuel D. Morton and Co. Account Books
Account books, 1826-1891, of Samuel D. Morton and of Samuel D. Morton and Co. merchants, of Charlotte County [Va.]. One volume, MsV Ame96, contains a genealogy of the Elliott family.
Rev. Samuel Huntting Sayre, Jr. Papers
Simon Snyder papers
Family papers of Governor Simon Snyder of Pennsylvania and his grandson, General Simon Snyder, brigadier general in Cuba and the Philippines. 56 items: 13 letters, 7 other manuscripts, 17 photographs, and 19 pieces of ephemera.
Caroline Baytop Sinclair Papers, 1938-1993
Correspondence of Dr. Caroline Baytop Sinclair and notes concerning her research of John Sinclair, Revolutionary and War of 1812 privateer. Collection also includes articles and clippings about John Sinclair, a Baytop genealogy, as well as correspondence about a piece of furniture given to the College of William and Mary.
The book, "The Kidnapped Child" a novel about Henry Sinclair, written by Caroline B. Sinclair, 1983.
Addition 1995.05 added as Folder 10.
William J. L. Sladen Papers
Pamphlets from the Environmental Studies at Airlie, "The Swans of Airlie, " "Do I have to Mow That?," and Cygnus newsletter. Includes letters from William J.L. Sladen, Director of the Environmental Studies at Airlie, to William and Mary staff about genealogical research on the Tucker Family.
Southampton County, Va. Letters and Papers
Stith Family Genealogy Collection
Strother Family Papers
Four volumes of Strother family genealogy and one newsletter. Included are "Houses of Strother: Descendants of William Strother I, King George County, Virginia," Vols. I & II.
Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers
William Carter Stubbs Papers (I)
William Carter Stubbs Papers (II)
Earl Gregg Swem Genealogy Collection
Papers collected by Earl Gregg Swem concerning the genealogies of his family and the family of his wife Lilia Hansbrough Swem. Families on which there is data include Swem (Swaim), Luce, Gregg, Wright, Farish and Smith. Includes written histories, documents, genealogical charts, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.
Addition 2000.49 is described on PDF inventory.
Theodor R. and Helen V. Swem Papers
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Nelle Favil Richardson Tonkin and Maurice Bradley Tonkin, Jr. papers
Correspondence, papers, photographs, tintypes, and genealogical material relating to the Richardson and Tonkin famillies. Nelle Favil Richardson and her son were both graduates of the College of William and Mary, 1923 and 1956, respectively.
Tyler Family Papers, Group F
Collection consists of letters, historical sketches, wills, genealogical charts and coats of arms of Virginia families. The majority of these papers are genealogical inquiries made to Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Very few of Tyler's responses are included but the inquiries contain information.
One reel of microfilm for the Register Index for Abingdon Parish, Gloucester Co.,1671-1761, is available in the Swem Library Microforms Collection.
Tyree Collection
Upshur Family Papers
Washington Family Devotional Book and Genealogical Notes
This collection consists of a family history or devotional book with genealogical notes on the Washington family prepared for the members of the Lambeth parish. This item was composed by Margaret Lewis Maupin during the 1940s. This work traces the lineage of the Washington family starting with John Washington, born 1671. Also includes a typed sketch of the author's family.
John D. Weaver Papers
Collection contains genealogy of the Poulton Family, published stories, articles, book reviews, books, correspondence with family and friends and news clippings by and relating to John D. Weaver, author, novelist, biographer and West Coast editor of "Travel and Leisure Magazine".
William and Mary Quarterly Records
William Cabell Papers
Letters, 1885-1890, from William Cabell, England, to Alexander Brown, mainly concerning Cabell's efforts to buy books for Brown and to do research for him. Includes a letter, 1894, from Margaret R. King containing genealogical information on the Rives family.
William G. Stanard Papers
William Henry DeBell Papers
Wingfield-Britton family papers
Photos, letters, a diary, an account book, and an album belonging to members of the Wingfield-Britton family. The collection ranges from pre-civil war to the 1980s, with the bulk of the material dated around the early 1900s. The correspondence covers a number of topics including health and family life, farming, and travel in the north-western valley region of Virginia.